My UIUX Boothcamp Journey

So I recently decided to give UIUX 100 percent of my time, especially because in the past I have struggled to stay consistent with it. Friends of Figma set up this beautiful boothcamp, and I’m thrilled I was among the lucky ones who got picked. I will just give a brief breakdown of what I have learnt this far because why not!

User experience is a term used to describe the overall experience a user has when interacting with a product or service in any given context, while User experience design considers every element that shapes the user experience. Meaning UXD is precedes UX…. The term UX was first coined in the 1990s by Dr Donald Norman( I had no idea until friends of Figma put me on) he was an electrical engineer and cognitive scientist at Apple.

We must bear in mind that UX is more about the user than it is about the designer because the essence of the design is so it can be used and thoroughly enjoyed by whoever is experiencing it.

INTRODUCTION TO THE UX DESIGN QUADRANT MODEL

Experience Strategy : this is all about dividing a holistic business strategy, incorporating both customer needs and those of the company.

User Research: this focuses on the research aspect of design basically. User research helps place people at the center of your design process and your products. User research is often divided into 2 parts which are : Quantitative and Qualitative methods.

Information Architecture: this is the science of organizing and structuring content in a logical user friendly way.

Interaction Design: this focuses on how users interacts with specific elements of a digital product.

You’ll be thrilled to learn just like myself that there are other specifics career paths for UX Designers, and they are as follow:

UX Writer

Voice Designer

UX developer

UIUX Designer

There are some important soft and Hard skills a UIUX designer must posses , this enables the designer to be efficient and resourceful. The soft skills include: Communicaton, Empathy and Organization, while the hard skills include : User Research, Information Architecture, and Wireframing/prototyping .

Another thing to note as a beginner in UIUX is that every UX designer should have a portfolio. What is a portfolio? It is an online exhibition of a UX designer’s work. In this portfolio, we also have a design case study, and this helps yo tell us the story of a particular project in details.

What are the necessary things to include in your portfolio? They are as follows:

A powerful introducer headline, a detailed “about” section , case studies that detail your process, images and real artifacts, contact information and links to any additional projects.

Thus far, I have been able learn a lot regard UIUX and I’m thrilled to learn some more as I’m ready to see where this journey takes me. I will be sharing most of all I’ll be learning here. Do let me know if there is anything you would like for me to give more details on. Thank you @fof_africa